Exceptional Adjunct Faculty Award (EAFA)

The Exceptional Adjunct Faculty Award (EAFA) is given for distinguished contributions to Glendale College in the recipient’s discipline, or for contributions and accomplishments in other professional areas. The EAFA recipient serves as a role model for the rest of the Adjunct Faculty. The award was first conferred in 2006. Each recipient’s name is added to the Exceptional Adjunct Faculty Award perpetual plaque located in the Administration Building lobby. 

Execptional Adjunct Faculty Award Recipients

2006    Claire Thoke
2007    Mary Ann Fell
2008    Charles Eastman        
2009    Cindy Pollack
2010    Marianne Nikodem
2011    Francoise Grand-Clement
2012    Robyn Fishman
2013    Julie Gamberg
2014    Steve Parker
2015    Emily Haraldson 
2016    Caroline DePiro


 Distinguished Faculty Award

The Distinguished Faculty Award (DFA). With this award, the Academic Senate recognizes excellence in a professor’s area of expertise, such as teaching, counseling, work with students, etc. It also considers good college “citizenship,” i.e. contributions to college life outside the classroom or primary service area as secondary criteria. Candidates for the DFA must have been at the college for at least ten years. The Senate has tried to recognize a variety of people in a variety of areas and for a variety of efforts. The recipient list includes great lecturers, people who have reached out to their students in exceptional ways, and people who have developed tremendous programs. The DFA was first conferred in 1987. DFA recipient photos are located in the Administration Building lobby. 

Distinguished Faculty Award 

1987    Leonard R. DeGrassi 2001    Mark Maier
1988    James M. Smith 2002    Jessica Gillooly
1989    not awarded 2003    Gary Massion
1990    Linda S. Nibley 2004    Sid Kolpas
1991    F. Lynn McMurrey 2005    Joan Watanabe
1992    David O. Hurst 2006    Brett Miketta
1993    Melita Baumann 2007    Danny Ranchez
1994    Larry Byrd      2008    Eric Johnston
1995    Susan Brinkmeyer 2009    Greg Perkins
1996    Yeimei Wang 2010    Chris Juzwiak
1997    Paul Dozois 2011    Monette Tiernan
1998    Carol Paxton 2012    Kindra Girard
1999    Marguerite “Peggy” Renner 2013    Richard Kamei
2000    Steve Taylor 2014    Christine Kloezeman
  2015    Joseph Beeman 
  2016    Darren Leaver

 Parker Award

The Parker award, named for William L. Parker, a philosophy professor to whom it was first bestowed. This awarded recognizes long service to GCC. Criteria include multiple areas such as academic, professional and community service; recognition by faculty, staff, students and administration; and lasting contributions to the college. The award was first presented in 1993. Each recipient’s name is added to the William L. Parker Award perpetual plaque located in the Administration Building lobby.

Parker Award Recipients

1993    Dr. William L. Parker 2004    Jeanette Stirdivant
1994    Jeanne E. Cunningham 2005    Joe Denhart
1995    Anne Marie Novinger 2006    Kathy Holmes
1996    Dr. Jean Lecuyer 2007    Kathleen Flynn
1997    Steven White 2008    Lynn Pomeroy
1998    Mona Field 2009    Jane DiLucchio
1999    Drake Hawkins 2010    John Queen
2000    Steve Marsden 2011    Gordon Alexandre
2001    Dr. Jose Mercade 2012    Peter Stathis
2002    Pete Witt 2013    Michael Dulay
2003    Dr. Ron Harlan 2014    Michael Allen
  2015    Ramona Barrio-Sotillo 
  2016    Sarkis Ghazarian





Last updated: 9/29/2016 4:32:58 PM