There are many courses in the Visual and Performing Arts Division that have a prerequisite that must be met or verified before you can enroll in the course.  The clearest way to achieve the prerequisite is to have taken the required prerequisite course at Glendale College.  However, many courses also allow someone with equivalent experience or skills (usually gained through prior study somewhere else or professional experience) to enroll in the course if a prerequisite waiver is approved by the Visual and Performing Arts Division Chair.

Due to the varied nature of courses in Visual and Performing Arts there is no one procedure for all classes.  Determination of equivalent experience or skills for a course is done on a case by case basis by the appropriate instructor in each Department.  Depending on the course and discipline, prerequisite waivers may be determined by methods including, but not limited to: examination, interview, portfolio review, verification of certification, or audition.

If you wish to seek a prerequisite waiver for a course in the Visual and Performing Arts Division please see the links below for the appropriate person to contact or procedure to follow.  If it is determined that you meet the course prerequisite then a prerequisite waiver may be issued allowing you to enroll in the course.

ANIMATION DEPARTMENT
Contact: Roger Dickes rdickes@glendale.edu

ART HISTORY DEPARTMENT
Currently no courses with a prerequisite.
Contact: Trudi Abram tabram@glendale.edu

CERAMICS DEPARTMENT
Contact: Mark Poore mpoore@glendale.edu

DANCE DEPARTMENT
Contact: Dora Kranning dkrannig@glendale.edu

GRAPHIC DESIGN DEPARTMENT
Contact: Rebecca Hillquist rebeccah@glendale.edu

MEDIA ARTS DEPARTMENT
Contact: Mike Petros mpetros@glendale.edu

MUSIC DEPARTMENT
Voice courses and College Choir
Mus 136, 137, and 231
Contact: Jayne Campbell jaynec@glendale.edu

Guitar, Music Technology and Jazz Ensemble courses

Mus 154, 155, 157, 158, 185, and 186
Contact: Byron Delto bdelto@glendale.edu

Piano courses and Concert Singers
Contact: Peter Green pgreen@glendale.edu

Music Theory, Applied Music, Chamber Music and Orchestra
Contact: Beth Pflueger pflueger@glendale.edu

PHOTOGRAPHY DEPARTMENT
Contact: David Yamamoto davidy@glendale.edu

STUDIO ARTS DEPARTMENT
Contact: David Attyah dattyah@glendale.edy or Caryl St. Ama stama@glendale.edu

THEATRE ARTS DEPARTMENT
Contact: Jeanette Farr jfarr@glendale.edu or Melissa Randel mrandel@glendale.edu
Last updated: 5/25/2011 8:57:48 PM